Drama! Drama! Drama!

Fake or Real? That is for you to decide.This past weekend and into this week I have been having a discussion with a friend of mine who is into martial arts. He entered an underground fighting tournament for which the prize was a sword. Now a sword for a prize isn’t all that great a prize unless you collect swords. However, for my friend, this particular sword had a price more than a dollar value. The sword was made by his mentor, teacher, and friend who passed away some years ago.

Now, I don’t understand guys one bit.. They like to fight and their best friend can be a guy they beat up last week.

Us girls on the other hand we get in a fight and 10 years later we still hate the girl, yet we don’t remember what the heck we were fighting over to begin with.

Anyways back to my friend and his fighting tourney. I received a text message from him on Thursday or Friday saying he was heading to Japan to visit his Shidoshi’s grave site. This is the guy whose sword he ended up fighting in the tournament for.

The way the conversation goes is what makes it so hard for me to understand guys.

I got permission from my friend to share the content of our texts back and forth as long as I left his name out. For the sake of being anonymous I will call this friend of mine S.

Fri April 6… S.
Think ima spend a week in japan.

Sun April 8… Lia
Hope you have a good time in Japan.

Sun April 8… S.
Heh plans changed. Can barely move. Not gonna beable to go.

Sun April 8… Lia
What happened?

Sun April 8… S.
Sick. Got stabbed again twice and dislocated my sholder.

Sun April 8… Lia
You got stabbed doing what?

Sun April 8… S.
Martial arts tourny. Underground unsanctioned stuff

Sun April 8… Lia
You’re gonna kill yourself doing that crap.

Sun April 8… S.
Never fought so hard in my life. In a way was worth it to test myself

Sun April 8… S.
Heh maybe. But it was fullfilling. Being able to fight without holding back. Got nothin else.

Sun April 8… Lia
You have your music and your friends.

Sun April 8… S.
Heh

Sun April 8… S.
What does it matter. I fail at everything I try.

Sun April 8… Lia
<Lie>

Sun April 8… S.
Heh. Its true.

Sun April 8… Lia
No its not.

Sun April 8… S.
What have I done right

Sun April 8… Lia
You’re a talented musician. You care about your friends, and someday you will make a girl very happy.

Sun April 8… S.
Doubtful. U know better than anyone a relationship with me is to strained to work

Sun April 8… S
Round 2 2nite. Wish me luck.

Sun April 8… Lia
Good luck my crazy friend.

Sun April 8…
S
Heh its about honor.

Sun April 8… Lia
Good Luck

Sun April 8… S.
Thx.

Sun April 8… Lia
Np still think you’re a tad bit crazy.

Sun April 8… S.
Heh

Sun April 8… Lia
I do mean it though. Good Luck.

Sun April 8… S.
Heh.

Sun April 8… Lia
Just because I don’t get why you do it, doesn’t mean I cant wish you luck and hope you don’t die in the fight.

Sun April 8… S
I wont. But if I do I wont regret it.

Sun April 8… S.
Oh tonite I get to fight a thai-boxer. Means maybe a challenge. And a katana duel before. Might be fun. Katana match gonna last 3secs max tho.

Mon April 9… Lia
How’d your fights go?

Mon April 9… S
Won both.

Mon April 9… Lia
Grats.

Mon April 9… S
I dont lose.

Mon April 9… Lia
When fighting with knives that’s a good thing… I still think you’re a tad bit crazy.

Mon April 9… S
Heh.

Mon April 9… S.
God. I hurt all over. Bad timing for painkillers to wear. carryin 200lm water heater.

Mon April 9… Lia
That’s what you get for working after fighting with knives.

Mon April 9… S.
Katanas*

Mon April 9… Lia
Lol knives… Katanas… Same thing.

Mon April 9… S.
Nope. Katana is 3 feet. Knife is smaller than 12 in.

Mon April 9… Lia
Lol I still say its the same and what Princess Liadan says is always right even if its wrong.

Mon April 9… S.
Not in this case. And the rest is hand 2 hand.

Mon April 9… Lia
Lol I know what katanas are. In fighting I consider anything with a blade a knife no matter how long the blade is.

Mon April 9… S.
I only use longer blades.

Mon April 9… S.
After this tourny my col. breaks 200

Mon April 9… S.
BTW the Katana fight lasted 3 mins. Hand to hand took 10. He was good. Lost to me cuz of a miss step.

I will leave the conversation here. He went on to fight again that night. I wished him luck again, however I will never understand why guys get themselves into situations like this.

Now I know why he wanted to fight in the Tournament. The sentimental value of the sword, as well as to fight the man who fatally injured his mentor in a fight. To fight someone and win without taking a life shows not only honor but great strength of will during a no holds barred fight.

Now my friend won the tournament; however supposedly the price is that he took one too many hits to the head and is in a coma. My question is this… “What price is honor worth?”

Is honor worth your life to show that you can honorably fight a man who will hit one too many times, and fatallay injure a person, sparing their life to let them know that you are the bigger person. Is it worth the price of your life, and your dreams to fight for your mentor’s name?

Again I said I am a girl, and I don’t understand all of this, but comeon guys… Don’t forget that you are a Son of a woman, the son of a man, maybe a brother or sister, father, friend, companion to others. Women you are a Daughter of a woman, daughter of a man, brother sister, mother, friend, companion. Think for a minute of all the people who would be affected by your choices. If you die there are people who care about you. There are people who love you. There will always be someone who will cry for you. Even if you can’t see it.

Think about the price of honor. I am not saying to die for what you believe in is wrong, but if the only reason you are fighting is because you think its all you are good for you are a bigger fool than the person who dies defending their beliefs because they want to protect those who they love.

~ by Liadan on 10 April, 2007: Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

 
